Mayors’ joint declaration

Throughout the world, communities are taking steps to protect biodiversity, restore natural heritage and reconnect their citizens with nature. In every case it is the ambitious and concerted action by decision-makers and civil society that makes it possible to preserve ecosystems and hence the essential services they provide for humanity.

We are aware of our responsibilities in this respect and we, too, are determined to support this movement.

Since 1985, we have been doing more and more to protect, showcase and interconnect our natural spaces, in particular the Mille Îles River, a treasure entrusted to our keeping.

In fact, we are committed to achieving even more.

The Mille Îles River and its banks are an oasis of biodiversity that plays essential ecological roles. They are home to over 385 animal species, 88 of them species at risk. The River is a source of drinking water for the nearby communities, and a source of pride for regional residents who appreciate all the opportunities it offers for recreation, relaxation and inspiration.

It is up to us, the Mayors of Laval, Deux-Montagnes, Saint-Eustache, Boisbriand, Sainte-Thérèse, Rosemère, Bois-des-Filion, Lorraine, Terrebonne and Mascouche and the Prefects of the Les Moulins, Thérèse-De Blainville and Deux-Montagnes RCMs, to protect and showcase this natural jewel for current and future generations.

Consequently, we declare that:

    We commit ourselves to creating the Mille Îles River metropolitan conservation park, which will become one of the largest protected areas in Greater Montréal. We would like this park to open in 2024.

    We commit ourselves to defining the perimeter of the park by determining the land to be included. It will extend 42 km along the Mille Îles River and could potentially cover over 5,000 hectares.

    We are creating the Mille Îles River regional round table, with the mandate of developing a common vision of the future park, consolidating its governance and status, and guaranteeing its integrity and its future. We commit ourselves to participating actively as members of the round table.

    We commit ourselves to taking all the steps necessary to obtain recognition and protection status appropriate to the characteristics of each element of the future park, which will consist of a broad mosaic of protected areas and a variety of uses.

    We acknowledge the historical role of Éco-Nature in protecting, restoring and showcasing the Mille Îles River, and we commit ourselves to granting it the right to manage the Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles and ensuring that it has the resources required to play this role.

    We commit ourselves to keeping our citizens informed on the status of the project, in a spirit of transparency and responsibility, by publishing an annual report.


Stéphane Boyer – Mayor of Laval and member of the Executive Committee of the Montréal Metropolitan Community
Éric Westram – Mayor of Rosemère and Prefect of the Thérèse-De Blainville RCM
Guillaume Tremblay – Mayor of Mascouche and Prefect of the Les Moulins RCM
Pierre Charron – Mayor of Saint-Eustache and Prefect of the Deux-Montagnes RCM
Mathieu Traversy – Mayor of Terrebonne
Denis Martin – Mayor of Deux-Montagnes
Christine Beaudette – Mayor of Boisbriand
Christian Charron – Mayor of Sainte-Thérèse
Jean Comtois – Mayor of Lorraine
Gilles Blanchette – Mayor of Bois-des-Filion